August 2016 Print

PRSA Luncheon

Saving Iowa ... A Battleship Story

Wednesday, August 17, 2016
11 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.

Cub Club at Principal Park
1 Line Drive
Des Moines, IA 50309


$20.00 PRSA Central Iowa Chapter Member
($5.00 Late fee)

$30.00 Non-member
($5.00 Late fee)

$10.00 Student
($5.00 Late fee)

Register before Sunday, August 14, 2016, to avoid late fees.


Photo credit: Jeremy Bonelle

Jeffrey M. Lamberti, local attorney and owner of the Iowa Barnstormers, is known for working to save the World War II battleship USS IOWA from destruction and helping turn it into a top rated museum at the Los Angeles Waterfront. He will speak to our chapter about his work to rally the support of Iowans to save the iconic USS IOWA and turn it into a popular tourist attraction.

Rated by CBS Los Angeles as one of the “Best Cool Exhibits to See With Your Kids,” USS IOWA hosts hundreds of thousands of visitors per year from all over the world. Many come from Iowa and, thanks to the tireless effort and financial support the state has provided to the battleship, Iowans can tour the ship for free.

USS IOWA is the West Coast’s only Battleship open to the public. Operated by the nonprofit Pacific Battleship Center (PBC), the IOWA opened on July 7, 2012, as an interactive naval museum at the L.A. Waterfront dedicated to “Celebrating the American Spirit” through the preservation and interpretation of the Battleship IOWA.

Part of the “Iowa class” of battleships, USS IOWA is considered one of the fastest and most heavily armored ships of its time. It could launch eight Tomahawk cruise missiles and its gun turrets are almost 67 feet long and each of its barrels can shoot a ton of high explosives 26 miles.

President George H. W. Bush is the honorary chairman of the PBC board while Jeff Lamberti serves as the board chairman.

Back in Iowa, Mr. Lamberti is managing partner of the Lamberti, Gocke and Luetje Law Firm. He served in the Iowa Legislature from 1995 to 2006, including three years as President of the Iowa Senate. He has extensive experience in state government affairs as well as state and federal campaigns and he currently serves as the Chair of the Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission.

Outside of his law practice, Mr. Lamberti also serves as the President of the Iowa Barnstormers Arena Football Team and is a member of the Board of Directors of Casey’s General Stores, Inc.

For more information on the USS IOWA, go to

Back to top

APR News

APR Mentors Needed

The chapter is making plans to develop an Accreditation in Public Relations (APR) mentoring program to assist those going through the APR process. Mentors would be asked to help APR candidates with such things as reviewing their readiness reviews, helping them prepare for the readiness review interview, assisting with study sessions, etc.

If you are an APR and would be willing to serve as a mentor, please contact Darin Leach, APR, or Jane Keairns, APR. Many mentors are needed this year.

Our chapter continues to have one of the highest percentages of members who have earned their APR designation in the nation. Five chapter members earned their APR in 2015. Let’s get even more in 2016 and 2017.

Back to top

Milestone Anniversaries

Members Who are Celebrating a PRSA Anniversary in August

In each issue of this newsletter, we recognize Central Iowa PRSA Chapter members who are celebrating milestone PRSA anniversaries. A special congratulations goes to the following individuals who will celebrate anniversaries this month:

1 year
Abigail Graves
Megan Garrett, Corporate Communications & Media Relations Administrator, Iowa Student Loan
Will Aeschliman, Communications & Digital Content Manager, CDS Global
Christopher Weishaar, Digital PR Specialist, Iowa Student Loan
Alexis J. Davis, Financial Program Associate, Financial Capability Network-United Way of Central Iowa

5 years
Edward J. Williams Jr.
Danielle Nicole West
Helene Bergren

15 years
Steve Karsjen, Director of Public Affairs, Ames Laboratory

Back to top


Save The Date

Mark your calendars to attend the annual PRSA Central Iowa OctoPRfest on Wednesday, October 19, 2016, at Mercy Medical Center in Des Moines.

Back to top

Corporate Sponsorships

OctoPRfest Sponsorship Opportunities

There is still time to be a sponsor of OctoPRfest. Central Iowa PRSA offers a number of different packages to reach and engage with attendees during OctoPRfest and beyond. The price range of these packages are $500 to $5,000 and include a variety of benefits such as social media posts, signage, free attendance, logo placement and more. There is also the option to be a trade show exhibitor for $500 — a great option for higher education institutions to promote their master’s degree programs. A full list of sponsorship packages is available on the Institute section of PRSA of Central Iowa’s website. We are also open to any new ideas and forming custom packages for interested sponsors.

For any questions or more information, please contact Amanda Laverman at

Back to top

Job Opportunity

Visit the Careers Page for New Job Opportunities

The Central Iowa PRSA Job Bank has a list of many current positions available in the Des Moines metro.

If your organization is interested in posting a position, rates are $25 for member postings and $50 for non-member postings. Members can also post unlimited jobs for an annual cost of $100. For posting your job or getting Job Bank questions answered, contact Erica Turner

Below are a sample of the listings on our website.

Communications Specialist - Landus Cooperative

Director of Annual Giving - Simpson College

Marketing Coordinator - Iowa Bankers Association

Communications Specialist - The Stanley Foundation

Project Manager - Lessing-Flynn Advertising

Back to top

Upcoming Learning Opportunities

Public Relations Training Events

8/18: Think Like a Friend, Fan, Follower or Visitor (Webinar)

8/26: Brand Journalism Workshop for Corporate Communicators (course)

9/8: Art and Courage of Dealing with Ethical Issues (Webinar)

9/15-9/16: IMC Strategy and Implementation (course)

9/20: Effective Messaging (course)

9/22: Building Media Relationships (course)

9/22: Think Outside the Pyramid (Webinar)

Back to top

Social Media

Get Social with PRSA Central Iowa

Keep up with chapter news, announcements, and industry news by liking us on Facebook, following us on Twitter, and liking our new page on LinkedIn.

Back to top

General News

Keep Your Contact Information Up-to-Date

Have you changed jobs, updated an email address or changed a phone number? Be sure to update your contact information with All contact information is maintained by the national PRSA organization and then shared with our chapter. If you update your information at the national level, it will be automatically updated at the state level. Updates completed at the state level are not provided to the national organization and you may be missing out!

Go to Use your membership number and password to log in.

Back to top

Meeting Minutes

To access minutes, you must be logged in to the Central Iowa PRSA site. From there, go to the "Member Area" on the right side, then use the left-hand navigation to access "Board Meeting Minutes." Scroll down the page to find the most recent meeting minutes. The website will prompt you to download the minutes.

This is a great way to stay informed of chapter happenings.

View available minutes

Back to top

Bookmark This

Keep informed. Subscribe to the Chapter’s RSS Feeds at

  Follow us.      Like us.         Join us.

Ideas or comments? Email

Back to top